The original sixth-order lens remains in place atop the lighthouse. A kerosene lamp, which had to be lit at dusk each evening and extinguished at dawn, was the light source until the light was electrified in the 1940s.
The lighthouse overlooks picturesque Chute Cove where, depending on the tide, vessels bob lazily on the water or rest on the gravel bottom. The surrounding evergreens have matured until they virtually obscure the light from the water.
In 2001, ownership of Hampton Lighthouse was transferred from the Department of Fisheries and Oceans to the Hampton Lighthouse Society. This was just the second lighthouse in Canada to be transferred under the 96-1 Directive (Cape Forchu was the first), and the first to be transferred to a non-profit organization. On November 15, 2007, Hampton Lighthouse was designated a Provincial Heritage Property which ensures the lighthouse will not be structurally modified and also helps in obtaining funding. The name of the organization was changed to the Hampton Lighthouse and Historical Society in 2008 to better reflect its mission.
Keepers: Herbert Foster (1911 – at least 1923), Vernon Dunn (1920s – 1950s), Claude Hamilton ( – 1957), Frank Copley (1957 – ).