Home Maps Resources Calendar About
Resources Calendar About
Saint-Michel Range, PQ  Lighthouse accessible by car and a short, easy walk.   

Select a photograph to view at full size

Saint-Michel Range Lighthouse

Saint-Michel-de-Bellechasse is a small, picturesque village situated on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River opposite Île d’Orléans. The village is home to two churches: the Chapel of our Lady of Lourdes built in 1879 and Chapel Sainte-Anne built in 1905.

A set of range lights was erected at Saint-Michel in 1928. These two towers both stood roughly eighty feet tall and were surmounted by enclosed, wooden watchrooms. The front tower had a focal plane of 100 feet above the river, while the rear light, located on higher ground 5,610 feet away, had a focal plane of 179.

The original range lights served until 2006, when they were replaced by the present pair of range lights: an eighty-two-foot-tall, tripod, skeletal tower for displaying the rear light and an eighty-foot-tall, square, skeletal tower for displaying the front light.


Copyright © 2001- Lighthousefriends.com
Pictures on this page copyright Kraig Anderson, used by permission.
email Kraig